Stale Cake/Fresh Bread

December 7, 2012 § 1 Comment

The man I am, somewhere in me, is the man I was taught by feminism to be ashamed of, yet the same man the same people tell me I have to be to attract them. How can I be anything at all and expect to get what I need? How can what I am measure up to an ideal? Cinderella will starve for want of cake. The man who is expected to do all the pursuing is the person upon whom all of the rejection is heaped and whose emotional skin is thickened to deadness. That’s what control gets you: a dispirited simulacrum of your ideal; a stale, tasteless cake. Is that still to be coveted over fresh bread?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Stale Cake/Fresh Bread

  • Arabella says:

    Be unexpected. Be who you are now, and forget what you think you should be. Stuff the lot of them and live for yourself. It’s really quite attractive. And I’d take fresh bread over cake any day.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Stale Cake/Fresh Bread at Crystal Delusions.

meta

