What’s Left of the Truth

December 21, 2012 § 8 Comments

Bitterness has been good copy for me over the years, but it’s hardly more than shtick by now. How long has it been? The bitterness was real for a long time, but it’s been a long time since. It clings like nostalgia. It always has. I’ve always let it. It shaped my life around a black heart. My heart is no longer black. Pride drove the obsession; bitterness, the delusion; both of them, the expression. And that was the drug that ramped up my paranoia. I don’t need the drug anymore. I have found another that has no need for pride and bitterness. It’s only hope. It’s only what’s left of the truth.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to What’s Left of the Truth

  • Ariane says:

    It’s such a shame that you’re not continuing with this blog. Even though I only visited once in a while, I enjoyed every single post that I read. If you ever condense your writings into a book, I will buy it. You are immensely talented.

    • Dion Burn says:

      Thank you, Ariane, for the compliment. It’s humbling. I might write again, but the reason for writing that began A Bright, Ironic Hell so long ago now has become the reason to not write. (Ironic to the end, huh?) Come back and read more, please. Though I’ve stopped writing this, I still care deeply for it and would be sad if no one ever stopped by again. (And I still think it’s useful, too.)

      • rococo says:

        I stopped by and read frequently, too, and I too am sad to see the last entry in this blog. I’m looking forward to reading the summation – what you’ve learned and why you’re stopping. I have to say, by way of constructive criticism, that I liked Bright Ironic Hell and Satellite Dance more. Things happened in each of those. The “date” in the coffee bar is heartbreaking and so well-written, I’ve re-read it several times. All of that stuff gives me some persepctive on my own experiences with “limerence” – the google term that helped me find your sites. This blog was not intended to talk about things, but I couldn’t relate to your abstract writing in the same way. In any case, I’d like to continue reading if you continue writing. Best of luck and thanks for the good words.

      • Dion Burn says:

        That’s an astute assessment. I also prefer the previous two (especially “BIH”), and among the reasons is that “things happened,” as well as that the emotions were “current” (for lack of a better term), on the edge of my being. With Crystal Delusions, I had to, essentially, seal that off from the rest of me in order to get some degree of objectivity. I succeeded, I think, but at a cost that I have not yet been able to fully assess. I am glad to hear from you after all this time. I was just beginning to think that I had no reason to write an afterword, that no one would notice if I didn’t. Thank you for getting me back on track, but I am daunted by the task.

  • Ariane says:

    Dion, is there an email by which you can be reached?

  • After reading several of your posts, as well as many comments, I’m presuming that blogging was an outlet during all of 2012 and that it was a successful outlet.

    Best wishes to you and yours for health, happiness, peace, and prosperity in 2014 and beyond!

    • Dion Burn says:

      Blogging accomplished precisely what I had hoped it would: It brought me closer to myself, showed me I was not alone, and, I have been told, brought comfort and food for thought to others. At times, I have missed the community and the contact. Though I no longer feel the need to be read, I still enjoy participating in the conversation. Thank you for being a part of that.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What’s Left of the Truth at Crystal Delusions.

meta

